New India Literacy Programme (NILP)

As per the recommendations of the National Education Policy 2020, the Government of India launched a centrally sponsored scheme called New India Literacy Program, popularly known as ULLAS (Understanding of Lifelong Learning for All in Society) for a period of five years, from 2022- 2027. The primary objective of the scheme is to empower all adults aged 15 years and above, who have not had the opportunity to educate themselves, and to enable them to contribute to the growth of the country. It not only allows the learners to acquire reading, writing and numeracy skills, but also to enrich them with an understanding of critical life skills while encouraging lifelong learning.

The New India Literacy Programme (NILP) has five broad objectives i.e. to impart Foundational Literacy and Numeracy, Critical Life Skills, Basic Education, Vocational Skills and Continuing Education to learners of 15 years and above age group which includes engaging holistic adult education courses in arts, sciences, technology, culture, sports, recreation.

 The Cell for National Centre for Literacy (CNCL), NCERT New Delhi has developed Primers titled as “Ujaas” available in 4 volumes under New India Literacy Programme (NILP). These volumes have been developed aligned with the Learning Outcomes for Foundational Literacy & Numeracy. SCERT Chandigarh has contextualized these four primers named as “ULLAS”. The primers cater to 13 themes reflecting the environment and surroundings of the learners. The selected themes correspond to the needs and experiences of the learners who are 15 years of age and above. These themes range from family and neighbourhood to digital literacy, financial literacy, legal literacy and others. This will enable the learners to make use of the attained critical life skills in various daily life situations helping them to boost their self-confidence and contribute to their work space in terms of generating income.




उल्लास – प्रवेशिका (भाग 1)
उल्लास – प्रवेशिका (संक्षिप्त संस्करण)
उल्लास – प्रवेशिका (भाग 2)
उल्लास (संक्षिप्त संस्करण ) – मार्गदर्शिका
उल्लास – प्रवेशिका (भाग 3)
उल्लास – प्रवेशिका (भाग 4)
उल्लास – मार्गदर्शिका